How to keep files handy across all your gadgets #homeschool

There’s one question I’m often asked most often by fellow homeschool moms….how are you able to use your stuff on all your different gadgets?

First off, instead of saving all my documents, videos, etc to my hard drive, I save it to DropBox. DropBox is a great place on the web which you can access from all your devices, including your computer, your smartphone, and your tablet. You can choose to keep your files private or you can create shared folders so you can share docs and other things with whomever you want. You can sign-up for free and receive 2Gb of storage space. If you refer friends you’ll receive 250Mb more for each friend. I’ve also found my DropBox stored files to be super handy when I’m using a shared computer – I can access my files through a web browser.

For music if you have an Android smart phone I’d use MusicWithMe for storing and sharing my music.  With this app you can sync wirelessly with your iTunes account. You can create playlists and even share them with your friends. You can share your music on Facebook, Twitter or email. See and share music your friends or fellow homeschools like. This would be great for a curriculum that studies particular musical pieces – like AmblesideOnline.

For my bookmarks on my browser I use Google Bookmark on my Google Toolbar. Again I can access my bookmarks from a web browser anywhere, on any device. If you’re using Firefox you can install the Google Toolbar and have your bookmarks fully integrated. While I wish it was the same for Chrome, it is not integrated.

That’s just a couple ways to keep your important stuff handy and useable. Thankfully the more fun devices there are on the market, there will always be more ways to keep connected.

Thoughts?

